Every visit has a memory

Every visit has a memory

Worst night this time around…

Every time John has a hospital stay there is something horrible that happens that we will never forget.  The first 13-month stent has a bunch of bad memories.  Like the time they placed an IV in his head because they couldn’t find his veins, they were so narrow.  Or the time they called us into the hospital at 2am saying this might be it, we need to get in fast.  I remember the rooms we were in and the people standing there.  Their faces are a blur but I know how many people were standing around and what they were doing.  This time around I will never forget tonight 3/13/17.  John destated to the 40’s on his oxygen.  I haven’t seen him that blue since he was a baby.  The whole experience is making me question every decision I have made this trip to the ICU.  Nothing like a trip to the ICU to fester up that mother’s guilt.  What should I have done differently? Maybe I should have come sooner? You know, like any mother except my decisions are based on life and death.  Oh, the fucking pressure!!! No wonder I drank!

I think what keeps me from breaking down is the fact that Kevin is breaking down.  He can’t stand this and emotionally collapses.  I end up having to hold him up, talk him down and tell him everything will be all right.  Tonight, after he went home I wanted to cry. But, I didn’t because I had to take care of John, get him to sleep and make sure he got his meds.  Then, when he fell asleep I sent Kevin a text letting him know.  Kevin called me.  How grateful I am he calls me today.  He was crying saying this isn’t fair and how hard it is to see John like this.  I sit and listen, tell him I understand and recommend he takes a hot shower and sleep well tonight. But, don’t forget to say your prayers.  He agrees, calms down and we hang up.

It’s my insatiable need to be in control that prevents me from breaking down.  I need to be the one barking out orders and telling people what John likes and doesn’t like, making recommendations on what to do next, talking to the doctors. It’s my character defects working to my advantage. I’ve yet to see a parent sobbing while making medical plans with a doctor in the ICU. It just doesn’t work that way.  You hold your shit together and do what you need to do.

And you remember every single detail and pray that the next time it will work out the same way.  And when it doesn’t you panic inside but manage to brainstorm more ways to move forward. And each step you take forward there is a heart wrenching twist in your gut praying it works. When it does there is a victory dance in your stomach that is hard to explain. When it doesn’t it is like a loss, like you are one step closer to losing him.

Leave a Reply

