“Is he Autistic?”

Autistic

“Is he autistic? Is a question I get a lot. It is usually paired with a soft sad look and tilted head. These people have no idea how wonderful it is to have a child like John. Another autism mom wouldn’t even ask that question. They would just start sharing stories with me that I usually can relate to, like normal moms.

“That’s what they say. But, I’d be autistic too if I spent 8 years on a vent” Is usually my response. It really depends on the day with how I respond.  Some days I don’t want to deal with the follow up questions, “Why was he on a vent for 8yrs” “what was wrong with him, he looks fine”. Some days I do respond this way just so I can explain him out of his autism. Meanwhile, he sits chanting my name and pounding on something nearby.

In the ICU he is always autistic. I must answer for him, even though I don’t always need to. I must help him with toileting, dressing, eating and so on. Just as I do at home. But, when they start talking about sending him to the floor instead of discharging us from the ICU, that is when I say it, “he is autistic”.  I argue that he has to adapt to the change in environment again, get to know the nurses that will already be jumpy around him because of his medical history and how all that change will just be too hard on him. “Please please please discharge us from the ICU, you know me, I can handle this at home.” Is usually my last line.

Being discharged from the ICU versus the floor usually means we go home a day or two earlier.  It’s just one of the tricks of the trade that we learned in the last 12 years. Like when he was a baby he had MRSA colonized in his trach. Every time we went to the ER it was the first thing we mentioned. It meant we got a private room in the ER. MRSA is very dangerous if active and having him in the general population was not safe for others. We definitely took advantage of that. Having our own room meant quicker service and getting home or admitted sooner. Now that John is no longer MRSA we don’t enjoy that benefit when we go to the ER.

This hospital stay I am not even sure I want to argue about going to the floor. I just want out of this room. I’m thinking the floor might be the next stage in our life, a stage we may need to get used to. He is older, stronger and less critical medically. The ICU beds are full, they need the beds for others. As I write this we are here over 3 weeks. 4 children have passed away, one I know of from the flu. I can’t help but think that could be John. I need to get away from this energy that makes me feel sad and grateful at the same time. It’s like I am being pulled apart from both sides of my body, the pain goes right down the middle of my chest, the sadness lingers in my heart and the happiness is always on the edge trying not to show too much. I’m watching mothers and fathers leave here without their babies. Its emotionally and physically draining. I am so grateful that I do not know their pain. I am so grateful that I have my son with me.

Now If he would just eat his damn hot dog and stop chanting my name “Barbi, Barbi, barbi, barbi,  barbi…. I don’t want hot dog”. Thank God he’s alive!

 

Leave a Reply

