10 fingers & 10 toes

January 4, 2008 journal entry

Before my son was born all I wanted were ten fingers and ten toes
I asked God to send me the most special child he knows
I never thought about all the rest…
I wanted him to play like little boys do with his tonka toys
Batman shoes, spider webs and blues clues
I wasn’t expecting what was to come
Quickly I learned, with tears in my eyes, what I needed to know
Your child will be broken and slow
Slow to breath, slow to learn, slow to walk, slow to talk
But, not too slow to love
I learned patience and trust in God, I learned about pride and worries
He gave me the beauty of his smile and the love from his heart
I seen his fear, courage and strength through his tears
I was blessed with the miracle of a child
Before my son was born all I wanted were ten fingers and ten toes
I got what I asked for, the most special child God Knows…

April 2005 on ECMO: extracorporeal membrane oxygenation 

Johnny Born

http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1818617-overview

 

One thought on “10 fingers & 10 toes

Leave a Reply

